Sign Up
Go Back

Indy 500 Final Results 2024

After a rain delay, thirty-three drivers started the 108th running of the Indy 500.

Starting Grid Lineup

Scott McLaughlin won the pole position while defending champ Josef Newgarden had the 3rd position. Team Penske swept the first row of the lineup, while Chevrolet made up the first two rows and most of the third.

Row 1 – Scott McLaughlin, Will Power, Josef Newgarden
Row 2 – Alexander Rossi, Kyle Larson, Santino Ferrucci
Row 3 – Rinus VeeKay, Pato O’Ward, Felix Rosenqvist
Row 4 – Takuma Sato, Kyle Kirkwood, Ryan Hunter-Reay
Row 5 – Colton Herta, Alex Palou, Callum Ilott
Row 6 – Marcus Armstrong, Ed Carpenter, Kyffin Simpson
Row 7 – Marco Andretti, Helio Castroneves, Scott Dixon
Row 8 – Agustin Canapino, Sting Ray Robb, Christian Rasmussen
Row 9 – Tom Blomqvist, Romain Grosjean, Linus Lundqvist
Row 10 – Christian Lundgaard, Conor Daly, Pietro Fittipaldi
Row 11 – Katherine Legge, Marcus Ericsson, Graham Rahal

Indy 500 Odds

Newgarden and McLaughlin took turns posting the shortest odds to win. In the end, Newgarden had the better odds and won the Indy 500 for the second year in a row.

Driver Odds
Josef Newgarden +525
Scott McLaughlin +550
Scott Dixon +700
Kyle Larson +700
Will Power +800
Alexander Rossi +1000
Colton Herta +1000
Pato O’Ward +1100
Alex Palou +1300
Santino Ferrucci +1500
Helio Castroneves +2500
Rinus VeeKay +3000
Kyle Kirkwood +3500
Takuma Sato +3500
Felix Rosenqvist +4000
Marco Andretti +5000
Marcus Ericsson +6000
Ryan Hunter-Reay +6000
Callum Ilott +8000
Graham Rahal +10000
Ed Carpenter +10000
Christian Rasmussen +10000
Linus Lundqvist +12500
Christian Lundgaard +12500
Marcus Armstrong +12500
Conor Daly +12500
Romain Grosjean +15000
Agustin Canapino +20000
Kyffin Simpson +25000
Sting Ray Robb +25000
Tom Blomqvist +30000
Pietro Fittipaldi +35000
Katherine Legge +50000


The Rookies Team
Mark Armstrong Ganassi
Tom Blomqvist Meyer Shank Racing
Kyle Larson McLaren
Linus Lundqvist Ganassi
Christian Rasmussen Ed Carpenter Racing
Kyffin Simpson Ganassi

About the Indy 500 Drivers

Pato O’Ward had perhaps the most frustrating finish of the race. With ten laps to go, he decided to stay behind Newgarden for the lead and waited till the last possible moment to overtake him. He made his play in Turn 1 of the final lap and overtook Newgarden for the lead. But on Turn 3, Newgarden re-took the lead to pass the checkered flag moments later.

It was the second time in three years that O’Ward finished second in the Indy 500. Last year, he crashed with seven laps to go after leading for 39 laps.

Takuma Sato is a two-time Indy 500 winner and the first Japanese-born driver to win. The 47-year-old hopes to get a third win before retiring from racing. Taku’s wins came in 2017 and 2020.

Katherine Legge is the only woman in the class of ’24. She is a British professional auto racing driver who holds the record for the fastest qualifying effort for a woman in Indy 500 history, set in 2023.

Kyle Larson attempted to race in the Indy 500 and NASCAR’s Coca-Cola 600 on the same day, called “The Double.” But he didn’t make it in time to start the NASCAR race because heavy rain delayed the start of the Indy 500 to 4:44 pm ET. Larson finished 18th because of a couple of rookie mistakes and went to the Coca-Cola 600 even though he couldn’t get there in time to start.

Justin Allgaier started in his place. As Larson arrived, the weather stopped the race with 151 laps to go. Larson got into car No. 5 but didn’t even turn a lap as the race was called after a two-hour rain delay. The weather was not on Larson’s side in either race.

How They Finished

Several crashes occurred during the rain-delayed race, the first occurring in the opening lap. Linus Lindqvist, Colton Herta, Ryan Hunter Reay, Marco Andretti, and Will Power all crashed out. Felix Rosenqvist, Katherine Legge, and Marcus Armstrong all had mechanical issues.

Position Driver Team
1st Josef Newgarden Penske
2nd Pato O’Ward McLaren
3rd Scott Dixon Ganassi
4th Alexander Rossi McLaren
5th Alex Palou Ganassi
6th Scott McLaughlin Penske
7th Kyle Kirkwood Andretti
8th Santino Ferrucci AJ Foyt
9th Rinus VeeKay Ed Carpenter Racing
10th Conor Daly Dreyer Reinbold Racing

Use the Bookmaker Software the Pros Use

PayPerHead has led the pack, making your life easier and more profitable for over twenty years. That doesn’t mean you have to pay a premium to use our pay per head software.

We’ve restructured our pricing so you can pay either a low price or a lower price. The more players you have, the less you pay. Check out our pricing page to learn more.

Your players will love our platform, including our latest feature, Parlay Cashout. It allows them to cash out of their parlays early while they’re still winning.

Be the first one through the checkered flag to get the best benefits for the NBA and NHL playoffs. Call us at 1-800-605-4767 and sign up today.

// Related content //